The Gorge Preservation Society

GPS Mission Statement

The Gorge Preservation Society is a non-profit organization, whose mission is to promote the enjoyment and conservation of a unique natural phenomenon called the Canyon Lake Gorge, by encouraging responsible, quality access opportunities through academic partnerships, economic initiatives, and citizen involvement.


GPS Board of Directors

Mike Poffenberger, Chair

Retired Geologist - ExxonMobil

American Association of Petroleum Geologists Certified

Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists Certified

Volunteer - Canyon Lake Gorge, BCI Bracken Cave, CCCA

Texas Master Naturalist - Lindheimer Chapter (Class of 2022)

Bachelor of Science, Geology, Louisiana Tech University

Master of Science, Geology, Louisiana Tech University

Van Green, Vice Chair

Retired State employee for 33 years working with mentally challenged individuals

Texas Master Naturalist with interest in Entomology, Geology, Native Plants, Birding and Home Gardening

BA in Anthropology from University of Texas, a BS in Education from Southwest Texas State and a Master in Education Administration/Supervision from OLLU

Audubon Society since High School

Susan Bogle, Treasurer

Joe Finneran, Secretary

Donna Eccleston, Director

Commissioner, Precinct 1, Comal County

Realtor Mortgage Lender over six years

President & Charter Member Canyon Lake Rotary Club

Tye Preston Memorial Library Capital Campaign Committee

Rhonda Neel, Director

BS ChE Texas A&M University ‘82

Dow Chemical/DuPont Dow Elastomers retiree, 36 years

Texas Master Naturalist Certified, Lindheimer Chapter, 2019

Mike Roberts, Director

Gorge Preservation Society

Mailing Address:
16029 S Access Rd
Canyon Lake, TX 78133

Contact Us



© 2023 Gorge Preservation Society